
 
 

Chapter 246-105 WAC 
Implementation Plan for Tdap Vaccine 

Effective March 14, 2012 
 
This implementation plan replaces the Tdap implementation plan adopted by the Washington State 
Board of Health on July 12, 2006. This implementation plan temporarily modifies Tdap vaccine 
requirements for school entry established in Chapter 246-105 WAC, according to the Advisory 
Committee on Immunization Practices’ (ACIP) best available medical practices. This plan expires at 
the end of the 2013-2014 school year. 
 
WAC 246-105-040 currently references the ACIP 2010 national immunization guidelines. The 
guidelines establish the ages and intervals of all immunizations required for school and child care 
entry. Based on these guidelines, Tdap vaccine is required for school entry starting at sixth grade 
provided there is at least a five-year interval since a student’s last DTaP or Td vaccine.  
 
As of January of 2011, the ACIP’s updated national guidelines for Tdap vaccine now allow children to 
get the vaccine regardless of the interval from their last DTaP or Td vaccination. Also, children 7 
through 10 years of age who are not fully vaccinated against pertussis should get Tdap. The update was 
based on additional vaccine safety data along with the persistence of pertussis outbreaks across the 
country. 
 
To facilitate the use of Tdap vaccine in accordance with current best medical practices, the Washington 
State Board of Health approves the following requirements in addition to the 2010 ACIP national 
guidelines for the implementation of Tdap vaccine in schools: 
 
Grades 6-12 

• One dose of Tdap regardless of the interval from their last DTaP or Td vaccination.  
• Undervaccinated1 children as young as 7 years of age who get a dose of Tdap are 

acceptable. For these children, no additional Tdap dose is required. 
• To continue the 2006 incremental Implementation Plan, Tdap is required by school year (SY) 

as follows: 
• SY 2011-2012: grades 6 through 10 
• SY 2012-2013: grades 6 through 11 
• SY 2013-2014: grades 6 through 12 
 

As existing resources allow, the Department of Health encourages schools to notify the parents or 
guardians of students not yet required to have Tdap about the importance of getting this vaccine. 
 
Before- and After-School Care 

• School-aged children attending before- and/or after-school child care must meet the 
immunization requirements for their grade in school. 
 
 

                                                 
1 “Undervaccinated” in the context of this document means less than five valid doses of DTaP before the age of seven, or less than four 

valid DTaP doses before the age of seven if the fourth dose was given after the child’s fourth birthday. 


